What did I expect out of freshman year? I think a better question would be what DIDN’T I expect? I over-think everything, so naturally I stayed up late at night those few weeks leading into fall semester just thinking about college. Thinking about what it was going to feel like to actually be a college student. Late nights studying, trouble with roommates, and scary exams are just a few expectations I had. After my first semester, I have concluded that my expectations were a lot different than reality.

After discovering that I was placed into supplemental housing on the first floor of Hastings Hall in East, I had to immediately find out what exactly was supplemental housing. Then, with much horror, instead of having to get along with one other person, I found out I had to get along with five. Yes, five. So my expectation of my dorm room was very low. I was ready to spend long days at the library or anywhere else to escape that overly-cramped room.

However, my room actually turned out GREAT. One roommate left, so one less person filled the room. In addition, we have our own kitchen AND a bathroom with its own shower. Pretty awesome, I’d say. But the cherry on top of it all is that I actually love my roommates. We all get along so well and have so much fun together. Most of  us are living together next year.

I also thought that I would have to be studying all the time to maintain good grades. But, this isn’t necessarily true. If I keep up on my work and complete things on time, I find that I do have free time, where I can relax or hang out.

            So all in all, my expectations turned out not completely true. Finals week did bring those scary exams, but everything else I was worried about… wasn’t scary at all. 




Leave a Reply.